Gyuto in Damascus Steel and Pomelle Sapelle

This is my latest gyuto, a custom order by chef Paulo, from São Paulo. It has an 8″ damascus steel blade and a pomelle sapelle wood handle with horn bolster. I thik I got closer to th original gyuto style and that is no coincidence as this design as been refined for over a century. Kichen knives in general ay look simple but they demand a lot of study and experience to fully understand the parameters that make the difference between an excellent knife and a mediocre one and I am really happy to feel that at each new knife I make my technique improves and the project´s result is more practical and better balanced. Making perfect kitchen knives is a challenge – and I am loving it! Now I have to admit that my my photographic skills are quite stagnated and these pics really don´t make this knife justice.

About ivancampos

Mim faiz faca, mim bebe cerveja!
This entry was posted in Damascus Steel, General, Kitchen Knives and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

