Lucky Guy

Very few people can have the oportunity do do what they love for a living nowadays (though to many it is just a matter of havng the guts to “jump” on it, but that´s the subject of another post). I am among the lucky ones who can and, although I probably won´t get rich,  it brings me an immense ammount of poersonal satisfaction. Beesides thhat, and just as important, is the fact that being a knifemaker has put me in touch with many great people, who got to me for the knives and ended up becoming  my friends.  Some I only know by phone calls, others just by the exchange of e-mails,  yet our ties are very strong, so much that ater almost twenty years I am still in touch with some of te people I met on the first days of my career but, as a matter of fact, it is very rare for me to meet customers face to face (besides the ones from Tatuí, of course). Ever rarer is to be able to deliver their knives n person as I had a chance to do in two occasions on my ast trip to São Paulo, some ten days ago.

When someone orders one of my knives, I feel really happy to have been chosen between the many other professionals in this trade to execute a work that oes much beyond crafting and supplying a tool – this is about making, along with the customer, the knife of his dreams, something very personal, and so it is only natural that everytime I am packaging a finished knife I keep wondering what will be the reraction when he receives the package, opens it and finally hold it, handling this so awaitied and desired piece of sharp  steel, that a little before that was just a sketc on a piece of paper or even less, just a vague conversation about sizes, shapes and materials. I aways get a little nervous until I receive that e-mail or phone call telling me about his satisfaction with my work and this feeling is not differet when I do this in person, so it was really great to see the happiness of these people, wich I share with you thanks to the pictures taken by my friend Julio Costa.

On the first pictures, you can see me with Minas Boicioglu, a DJ and chef from Turkey that was in São Paulo for some performances and so was able to pick up the knives he had ordered months ago. In the end, he and his friend Kaan Duzarat ended up taking home six knives – I suppose they were satisfied with what they saw! By the way, we met at a cool restaurant called Fishbar ( http://www.fishbar.com.br/index.php/home.html ), that serves some great seafood based recipes, and if you ever come to São Paulo and want to see one of my knives in action, get there and look for Paulo Fernandes, who uses one of my damascus steel gyutos every day.

After that, it was time to meet my teacher Luiz Caropreso whose knife I have already shown but had not delivered yet. We met at Cervejoteca, a very nice little stre specialized in beers (what else??!!!), that is among the best of its kind in São Paulo. Luiz doesn´t look disappointed in the pic, does he? 🙂 As a matter of fact, we had a great time there along with other beer aficcionados. Needless to say, we had some fantastic beers, too!

Being a father of nine hairy kids, after this marathon, I had to run back home to see if the pinnacles of the glorious Tatuian civization were still intact (they were) . It was a great experience and I hope to have the chance to meet you all and share some beers, with or without knives involved because it is aways a great palsure to meet those people whose suport allow me to live doing what I like so much.

About ivancampos

Mim faiz faca, mim bebe cerveja!
This entry was posted in General, personal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

